A Description of Perfect Love

~ 1 Corinthians 13  – WHAT IS TRUE LOVE? ~

*The word “charity” is used in the King James Version to represent pure love, the kind of love God has for us, a love that is faithful, true and honest. Charitable love does not tremble in times of trials, it is perfect and unending.

Verses 1-3   [Without charity (love), I am nothing]
“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of Angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophesy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge: and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have no charity, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not charity, it profiteth me nothing. ”

Verses 4-7  [Charity (love) suffereth long]
“Charity suffereth long, and is kind: charity envieth not: charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up. Doeth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil. Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth: Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.”

Verses 8-10  [Charity (love) never fails]
“Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail: whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away. For we know in part, and we prophesie is part. But when that which is perfect is come, then that which is part, shall be done away.”

Verses 11-13  [We see through a glass, darkly]
“When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass, darkly: but then shall I know even as also I am known. And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three, but the greatest of these is charity.”

~ John 3:14-17 – For God sent His Son out of Love ~
“And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness: even so must the Son of man be lifted up: That whosoever believeth in him, should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world: but that the world through him might be saved.”

~ John 15 – WORDS OF COMFORT ~

Verses 1-3  [I am the true vine]
“I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit, he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit. Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.”

Verses 4-6  [Abide in Me]
“Abide in me, and in you: As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine: no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered, and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned.”

Verses 7-10  [Continue in My love]
“If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit, so shall ye be my disciples. As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. If ye keep my Commandments, ye shall abide in my love, even as I have kept my Father’s Commandments, and abide in his love.”

Verses 11-13  [Love one another]
“These things I have spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. This is my Commandment, that ye love one another, as I have loved you. Greater love hath no man then this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” [Jesus laid down His life for us.]

Verses 14-16  [I have chosen you]
“Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you. Henceforth I call you not servants, for the servant knoweth not what his lord doth, but I have called you friends: for all things that I have heard of my Father, I have made known unto you. Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that you should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my Name, he may give it you.”

Verses 17-20  [Love one another, for ye are not of the world]
“These things I command you, that ye love one another. If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you. If ye were of the world, the world would love its own: But because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you. Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater then the lord: if they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.”

Verses 21-23  [Hatred of Jesus is also rejection of the Father’s love]
“But all these things will they do unto you for my Names’ sake, because they know not him that sent me. If I had not come, and spoken unto them, they had not had sin: but now they have no cloke for their sin. He that hateth me, hateth my Father also.”

Verses 24-27  [Perfect love is rejected]
“If I had not done among them the works which none other man did, they had not sin: but now have they both seen and hated both me and my father. But this commeth to pass, that the word might be fulfilled that is written in their law, They hated me without cause. But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me. And ye also shall bear witness, because ye have been with me from the beginning.”
~ 1 John 2:1-12 – KEEPING HIS COMMANDMENTS IS LOVE ~

Verses 1-3  [We know that we know Him by keeping His commandments]
“My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous: And he is the propitiation for our sins: and not for ours only, but also for the sins of the whole world. And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments.”

Verses 4-6  [The love of God perfected]
“He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him, But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in him. He that saith he abideth in him, ought himself also so to walk, even as he walked.”

Verses 7-9  [An old commandment which ye heard from the beginning]
“Brethren, I write no new commandments unto you, but an old commandment which ye had from the beginning: the old commandment is the word which ye have heard from the beginning. Again, a new commandments I write unto you, which thing is true in him and in you: because the darkness is past, and the true light now shineth. He that saith he is in the light, and hateth his brother, is in darkness even until now.”

Verses 10-12  [Showing love means to walk in the light]
“He that loveth his brother, abideth in the light, and there is none occasion of stumbling in him. But he that hateth his brother, is in darkness, and walketh in darkness, and knoweth not whither he goeth, because that darkness hath blinded his eyes. I write unto you, little children because your sins are forgiven you for his Names’ sake.”

Conclusion
Although I have only used a small number of scriptures in this short study, the entire bible conveys the story of how much God love us, in addition to how we are to interact with one another. In 1st Corinthians 13, Paul explains that unless the Christian has charity (love and compassion) for our neighbours, we have nothing. Jesus said we are to forgive those who have transgressed against us, freely, lovingly, and without hesitation. It is essential for us to remember that God loves us, so much so He allowed Jesus Christ to die upon the cross for our sins – a perfect declaration of love! Therefore, it is perfectly clear, and also confirmed by Jesus, that the Father will not forgive our sin unless we forgive those who have wronged us. My hope and prayer for all of us is to be more loving, forgiving one to another, and not giving occasion for the devil to stir up evil within our hearts.

May the LORD bless you always,
February 19th, 2011

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011 Posts, Learning about the Bible

Leave a Reply

